Crumpets, drinking tea and colouring in…

…It can only be sunday morning.  Check out my new ‘about’ and ‘news’ tabs.

I heart Manchester.  But I must say if I won the lottery this week I wouldn’t mind a second home in NYC.  Since I visited New York I’ve been a bit obsessed, going as far as writing a novel about it.  Today is obviously a significant day for the city.  I prefer to think of 9/11 as a New York event, the way it brought a city together, the way it showed community,  and courage and the way the tragedy was felt city-wide.  When you start thinking about it in World Event terms I think it gets inextricably linked to President Bush being a moron, Ongoing wars and American bankruptcy. 

I don’t know if these 9/11 anniversaries will last decade after decade – aswell as commemorate the lost they serve to make us more and more immune to the images on the TV – the bodies dropping from the windows.  The American media has a way of turning events into epic, emotional blockbusters and they’re starting to absorb the reality and authenticity of 9/11 into a movie-style format of crying children and dusty firemen.  They should have named this New York Day so that in the future it could become a celebration of the city instead of being forever a gruesome reflection.

I published a poem in an anthology called The Harsh and the Heart in America earlier this year, and since the anthology has been released I think I own the rights again so I thought it might be appropriate.  Comments welcome, how do you remember 9/11 are you sick of seeing the traumatic images or do you put time aside this time every year to recall the impact the day had on the world?

 
 
 
New York
 
Like the year’s first snowfall, the delicate flakes suspended –
September’s blanket of dust covering the city.
A comedy of porridge-coloured firemen blinking,
Red-rimmed eyes, astonished, emptily coughing.
 
Now we watch footage of it fall every September,
We try to predict, now, no, now, any minute.
But when it goes we’re still stunned and silent
Cameras dart wildly, focused on legs pumping, shoes slipping.
 
That hatched container crushed, backlit and billowing
I remember how many were still inside,
Clinging to the window-frames, gasping for air.
With breathtaking city views watching below
 
The rolling wall of fog crisscrossing outwards
Like the ripples of a splash, swallowing runners,
Choking survivors, blinding diners –
The intimacy of underwater silence.
 
And in the thick night someone stays filming,
The after-wave of choked ghosts stumbling invisibly
Grasp phones and cough over loved ones, desperately
Blue sky opens up, and now expands endlessly.
 
Dave Schofield obviously owns the copyright on this and everything else on the blog, it’s all me baby, anyone caught copying and pasting will be tickled in a public location until they wet themselves in front of everyone.  However want to buy a print of a Manchester scene or of absolutely anywhere in fact for the low price of £10-£15, postage free to the UK, then email me at admin@manchestersartisticson.com
7 thoughts on “Crumpets, drinking tea and colouring in…

  1. I love those pictures Dave, did you do them? I feel quite desensitized to the 9/11 now, like you say the reality has been taken from it and it feels more like an American blockbuster.

    I think a celebration would be far better, it all just seems primed to play on your emotions when to me people have grieved and grieved over this already. A celebration of survival and New York would be much better.

  2. Loving the pictures. Keep them coming.

    I attempted to reblog your last post but nothing happened. I’m not entirely sure how to reblog properly – I thought you’re meant to republish someones post on your own site with full credit to the original site – but I clicked on the button that asked Reblog this Post? It pretended to do something, but I’m not sure what.

    P.S. The one you uploaded on your photo-website was Bluu.

    • Ah, Bluu.
      Ah well, I’ve never seen that, I thought you just meant put the link on your blog…not to worry, I’m still trying to work out all this technical stuff, but I’m still happier now I’ve got my ‘currently reading’ did you see I want to put a list of blogs I love on the home page, I like the one on the Manchizzle page, it’s a good reference.

  3. I still haven’t read your poem about 9/11. I can’t bring myself to do it. Although I’ve heard a lot and seen a lot I haven’t become desensitized to it. I remember where I was, who I was with, what I was doing (I was at work when I heard) and I remember everything I saw and heard that day and in the days that followed. I worked on a project after 9/11 dealing with the imagery and people’s grief and memories. I guess I don’t like to be reminded of it.

    • That makes me wanna tell you to read it then and tell me what you think. I’m the last person who’ll be forgetting it believe me, I wrote a novel about it and researched it for a year and whenever it comes on now it gets to a raw nerve, but then there’s some American saying it’s the worse thing to ever happen in history and I feel normal again. The actual event is being watered down by all this crying and hollywood back slapping. Read the poem, it’s not a eye witness account, just me typing what was in my head. It was all based around an image of a clear sky but I don’t know if it carries across.

Leave a Reply

